Fisgard 1982-83

Fisgard Main Gate

Welcome to HMS Fisgard in the 1980s

This site is dedicated to everyone who trained at the Royal Navy Artificer Training Establishment HMS Fisgard, Torpoint, Cornwall as an artificer apprentice in the establishment's final two years. It is intended to supplement the Fisgard Association website, concentrating on the early 1980s before artificer training was moved to HMS Raleigh.

If you were at HMS Fisgard in 1982 or 1983 as a member of 821, 822, 823 or 831 entry, regardless of how long you served, we would like to hear from you. Other former artificer apprentices are very welcome too. We would also be interested in hearing from former HMS Fisgard staff members.

Email us at or leave a message on our Guestbook page.

HMS Fisgard Crest

News & Updates

The date has been set! On the weekend of 3rd/4th September 2022 we will hold a 40th Anniversary Reunion in the Plymouth area. Open to 821, 822, 823 and 831 Entries and their guests, venue to be announced in due course. Put it in your diaries.

The weekend will likely be in the same format as the 30th Anniversary in 2012. You can register your interest by emailing us at . More information will be posted on this website in due course.

Please Contribute To Our Running Costs

Websites are not free to run and we receive no income from advertising. If you like our content and wish to see it continue, then please consider contributing our running costs using the link below: 

Donations received since 1st September 2020


Thank you: Bob Balloch, Alastair Browne, Richard Gray, Paul Cooke, Dave Pratt, Rupert Williams, Norman Maclean, James McDonald, Robert Miller, Derek Thomas, Colin Parkinson, Kevin McKale, Adam Puk, James Dexter, Stephen Doughty, Neil Palmer, Gordon Campbell, Kevin Smith, Karl Bagley, Stuart Ayton, Kevin Doswell, Jon Batty, John Beech, Steve Bowling, Glenn Worth, Ivor Humphrey, Chris Alexander, Iain Baxter, Rob Walsh, Andy Dimond, Mike Ousby, Sam Hubbard, Colin Jessep, Norman Walthew, Bill Oliphant, Roddy Milne, Dave Lowe, Tony Birr, Sean Perry, Andy Wilden, Jon Saverton, Chris Wise, Steuart Whitfield, Fraser Cropper, Pete Bellamy & Wayne Clancy.